Blogmas Day 6: Books to Read

Welcome to Blogmas Day 6! Today I am sharing what books I want to read over my holiday break. Working in academia and being on a nine-month contract, I get all holidays and summers off. So I have two weeks off over the Christmas holiday! Yay! Therefore, I want to read some “fun” books that aren’t too focused on my graduate work or the courses I teach.

Disclaimer: two of the books I want to read are related to my dissertation work, but I need to read them when I don’t have other school related reading because they contain heavy material (meaning philosophical).

The two books semi-related to school include Gender Trouble by Judith Butler and The History of Sexuality by Michel Foucault. My research is on transgender health care, health disparities, and healthcare professional knowledge on transgender specific healthcare. In preparation for writing my dissertation, I need philosophical/theoretical frameworks to back up my work, and these are the two I am reading more about for future application.

               

Then, I started reading Marie Kondo’s book, The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up, a few months ago but never finished due to work and school. So, I want to finish reading this. I don’t think it will take long to complete, it’s just making the effort. This book is so popular that I was intrigued by it, and I’m sure it’s helpful. But I really just want to finish what I started!

And the last book I want to read, or probably skim through, is a book I put on my Christmas list, so not sure if I’ll get it, but Abby knows about it ;)! It is Lisa Eldridge’s Face Paint: The Story of Makeup. It looks super interesting, and of course, Lisa is a makeup goddess! Her video where she goes through the centuries of makeup history, dressing as each era, is absolutely amazing and very well done. Here is the link if you are curious to watch it: Best and Worst Makeup Moments in History

I’m not sure if I’ll get through all these books, but it’s what I would like to try to accomplish over my holiday break. If anything, I really want to read Gender Trouble and finish Kondo’s book. What books are you hoping to read over your holiday?

Leave a Reply

