Blogmas Day 7: Current Base Routine

Welcome to Blogmas Day 7! Today I want to share with you my go-to base products that I am currently using. I use a range of drugstore and high end products to complete my base routine. I am not including bronzer, blush, or highlight in this blog post…another day friends. 🙂 Check out what I am currently using and loving below:

Primer: Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer. This stuff is super pricey at $52/bottle. I did not pay that! I received a deluxe sample as a 100 point perk at Sephora, and it’s lasted a long time. I’m about to the very end of it and will be moving on to a CoverFx primer I got in a Black Friday kit at Sephora for $10. (Kit no long available) I will let you know how this primer works in comparison.

Foundation: 1. Guerlain Meteorites Baby Glow Sheer Liquid Foundation This foundation is expensive at $54 (I purchased the full size with my VIB 20% off), but the payoff is amazing! This is an illuminating foundation, but doesn’t cause my oily skin to appear oilier than usual. It’s labeled as a sheer foundation, but I find the coverage to be great! I really don’t need a lot of concealer to cover redness. And every time I wear this foundation I get compliments on my skin. Gotta love that! I decided to splurge and purchase this during the VIB sale due to my upcoming wedding and the desire to have flawless, glowing skin on my big day!

2. Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous This is definitely much more affordable at around $7 at the drugstore. Also, the shade range is a lot more well-rounded compared to Guerlain. The coverage is medium and provides a natural, satin finish. I find it is a long wearing formula that rarely needs touching up throughout the day. I wear this more frequently than the Guerlain, since it is cheaper and is a more natural look (not so glowy).

              CoverGirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Liquid Makeup Foundation, Beige- 1 fl oz

Concealer: ELF HD Lifting Concealer This stuff is the bomb.com! It is so cheap ($3) on the ELF website or at Target, Walmart, and CVS. It provides high coverage and lasts a relatively long period of time. I’m sure there are more long wearing concealers on the market, but this seems to last the time I need it to. I am interested in trying Nars and Urban Decay’s cult favorite concealers, but I can’t bring myself to buy them at those steep prices when I know the ELF one is great at such a good price. What are your thoughts on high end vs drugstore concealer?

  

Setting Powder: ELF Mineral Pearls is a new edition to my face makeup routine (in Natural). But I am loving it! It provides a natural glow to the skin which I haven’t found with other pressed powders. I have never really been a fan of pressed powders because I haven’t had any luck with the ones I have tried. For some reason, I felt they made my skin oilier faster during the day than when I didn’t wear powder. Go figure! But these little pearls are so cute and work really well!

Setting Spray: Urban Decay All Nighter is a great setting mist to remove that cakey, powdery appearance while maintaining a long lasting makeup look. The price is $30, but I have had my bottle for a really, really long time and still have a quarter of it left. I apply this by spraying it on a face brush then buffing it into my skin. It does have a nice fine mist that it wouldn’t drench your face if you want to spray it directly.

What products are you currently using to create a flawless, fresh look to your skin?

2 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 7: Current Base Routine

Leave a Reply

