Blogmas Day 20: Hair Care Routine

Happy Sunday! Today I wanted to share the products I use for my hair. First off, my hair is VERY prone to frizz and is fine in texture. It has a strange life of its own. If my hair air dries, the hair that frames my face is very curly (kinky curls) while the back is just wavy. I wash my hair usually every other day. I may be able to extend to a third day if I am just hanging around the house, but typically it is too oily to be worn dirty like this to work. I also vary the time of day when I wash my hair. This may seem weird to point out. But if I have an early day teaching, I will shower the night before and air dry my hair overnight, and deal with the consequences with a curling iron or straightener in the AM. Other days, I will wash my hair in the morning and blow it dry then style. It all depends on my schedule and time available for hair washing days.

Anyway, enough explanation. I wash my hair with Herbal Essences shampoo and condition with Pantene Pro V (for volume). I love both so much! I have repurchased both over and over. I buy the big bottle with the pump of the Herbal Essences since I love it so much. Not only do they clean and moisturize my hair but are cheap and can be purchased at every major drugstore, grocery store, and Target or Walmart.

Twice a week I use Aveda’s Smooth Infusion Smoothing Masque. The smell of this is heavenly (the quintessential Aveda scent) , however, I am honestly just trying to use it up. I don’t think it really does anything for my hair that is worth the cost of the product.

After getting out of the shower, I use Pantene’s Detangler to comb out any knots that linger. I recently purchased the Wet Brush from Ulta and love it! I had the same Conair brush since high school, so I figured it was time to upgrade. This brush is nice because it can be used on wet hair without damaging or breaking strands.

       Aussie Hi Hold + Hi Shine Hair Spray Aerosol Maximum Hold 10 oz [381519012693]

Then I let my hair air day either over night or for as long as I can while putting on my makeup and getting dressed. Once it’s time to style my hair, if it is wet, I apply Living Proof’s Perfect Hair Day 5-in-1 styling treatment and then blow it dry using a super old Revlon dryer I have had since high school. I especially like the Living Proof treatment if I am straightening my hair as it helps to control frizz and really does smooth the hair. After my hair is mostly dry, I will either run a curling iron or a straightener through it until desired effect is achieved. I then use Living Proof’s Instant Texture mist for some volume and Aussie’s Sun Touched Shine Hair Spray. I’m not even sure if this hair spray is still sold as I bought this years ago. I don’t use a lot, just enough for some hold. A little goes a long way. I do love this stuff though because it provides nice hold while maintaining flexibility and movement.

Although the tools below are not the exact ones I own, as I have had all three for so many years I think they no longer make any of the models I have, but the ones shown are similar. My flat iron is large in width, and I have been considering an upgrade to a higher quality, slimmer version. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

I’d love to hear about your hair care and the products you are loving! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! xoxo

Leave a Reply

