The Last Birthday in My 20s

Today is my 29th birthday! How did I get so old? Actually, I am so much more comfortable with myself and who I have become than I did during my younger years. I feel like I have accomplished a lot in my 29 years thus far. I graduated from nursing school, got my masters, worked in a high acuity ICU for five years, and am now working toward my doctorate and have a great job in academia. I also am engaged, planning a wedding, and recently bought a house. Just over the last year, I have found my passion for transgender health and health disparities. My research interests took a major turn from end of life care to transgender health. But I’m loving the change and the new drive I have found!

I can’t believe all that I have been able to accomplish in my first 29 years. I hope I can continue to be as productive and continue to grow as much as I have up to this point. I know this is super gushy, but I am pretty content with how things have turned out so far.

I don’t have any big plans today. I am off from work since it is MLK Jr. Day. So I will probably have lunch with my parents, maybe do a little shopping, and then Abby and I are going out to dinner tonight to celebrate. I am not the biggest of birthday people. I enjoy them, but never really have gone all out or had huge parties for my birthday. I enjoy low key birthdays were I spend time with family and Abby. Not too exciting, but it’s what I like! Thanks for reading this ramble about my life, current contentment, etc. Have a great day!

IMG_6166

Leave a Reply

